Home Sport Formula 1 Suzuka Super Formula: Nirei Fukuzumi breaks Suzuka lap record on 2nd test...

Suzuka Super Formula: Nirei Fukuzumi breaks Suzuka lap record on 2nd test day

- Advertisement -

Nirei Fukuzumi unofficially broke the lap record to get a Super Formula automobile at Suzuka to high rookie testing’s final afternoon .

Two-time Super Formula Winner Naoki Yamamoto was the first driver to reduce Kazuki Nakajima’s record-setting time of 1m35.907s from 2017, moving almost seven tenths quicker at the 50-minute mark.

Yamamoto‘s Dandelion teammate Fukuzumi went quicker 15 minutes afterwards, lapping the Japanese Grand Prix circuit in 1m35.190s to move atop the leaderboard.

Together with the Afternoon session influenced by light rain, no driver could breach the barrier that was 1m36s and the morning benchmark of Fukuzumi stayed unbeaten.

Yamamoto’s With Red Bull junior Juri Vips and Day 1 pacesetter completing third for Mugen together with the laptime he place in the morning previous time was good enough to secure instant.

Toshiki Oyu, who was sharing among the two Nakajima automobiles with Hiroki Otsu, was fourth-quickest, while Tomoki Nojiri (Mugen) ended up fifth despite inducing a red flag in the afternoon.

Formula 2 race winner Nobuharu Matsushita (Drago Corse) was first time and the final of these drivers to eclipse Nakajima’s lap record.

Read | Formula1 restores traditional chequered flag signal after light panel error at Suzuka
Read | Vips tops opening day of Most Popular Car Suzuka Super Formula test

Kondo Racing again ended up as the very best Toyota team amid Honda domination, together with Kenta Yamashita placing the seventh-quickest lap – a 1m35.966s.

Lucas Auer was eighth in the direct B-Max with Motopark entrance, ahead of Nakajima’s Tadasuke Makino, who awakened the afternoon session.

Hiroaki Ishiura was the next Toyota runner to break within the top 10, finishing over a second down on Fukuzumi at 10th.

The Several red flags were featured by final and second day of newcomer testing, Including a stoppage in the morning to repair the timing system.

Morning results:

Pos No. Driver Team Time Gap
1 5 Nirei Fukuzumi Dandelion 1’35.190
2 1 Naoki Yamamoto Dandelion 1’35.260 0.070
3 15 Jüri Vips Mugen 1’35.342 0.082
4 064 Toshiki Oyu Nakajima 1’35.441 0.099
5 16 Tomoki Nojiri Mugen 1’35.478 0.037
6 012 Nobuharu Matsushita Drago Corse 1’35.871 0.393
7 3 Kenta Yamashita Kondo Racing 1’35.966 0.095
8 50 Lucas Auer B-Max with Motopark 1’36.062 0.096
9 38 Hiroaki Ishiura Inging 1’36.516 0.454
10 018 Yuji Kunimoto Team KCMG 1’36.552 0.036
11 19 Yuhi Sekiguchi Impul 1’36.578 0.026
12 51 Charles Milesi B-Max with Motopark 1’36.755 0.177
13 39 Sho Tsuboi Inging 1’36.874 0.119
14 20 Ryo Hirakawa Impul 1’36.906 0.032
15 37 Nick Cassidy TOM’S 1’37.209 0.303
16 65 Tadasuke Makino Nakajima Racing 1’37.229 0.020
17 4 Sacha Fenestraz Kondo 1’37.295 0.066
18 36 Ritomo Miyata TOM’S 1’37.560 0.265
19 8 Yoshiaki Katayama LeMans 1’39.180 1.620

- Advertisement -


Sign up for latest news, important updates and special tutorials.

Anoj Kumar
Anoj Kumar is the Editorial Director for the AutoFreak. Anoj has been consistently named one of the top Influencers and Author by independent organizations. He is a frequently quoted source in Auto-Mobile.

Must Read